A trilogy was published in 2010 by Warren R. B. Dixon and is available commercially in as hardback books or in Kindle editions.

When the Little Toy Dog Was New

This book is the first of three on the racism, the delusion, the love, the hatred, the violence, the hope, the meanness and generosity, the humanity and inhumanity, the range of love-hate viciousness and nobility that bind the black and the white people of the United States into the same nation.  The second book will be gray and the third will be black, but this first is the white novel.  It begins with a love story among the very young at a time when black Americans, eighty years after freedom, were still in bondage.  Some say they are in bondage even now, but not like then.  The setting is in Kentucky, Guam, and Cincinnati during the Second World War. (Available as hardback or Kindle edition)

The Cincinnati Rain

The second book, the gray novel, takes place in the truth of imagination in a far lost summer ago among four people.  The stars had named them Water, Earth, Fire, and Air.  Four young lives of two black and two white people crossing one another in a single Eisenhower season of violence, love, music, genius, art and murder, when Cincinnati was old-fashioned and dowdy, and Ted Kluzewski was young. (Available as hardback
or Kindle edition)

The Matryoshka Man

The final novel of the trilogy, The Matryoshka Man, is the black novel. It is a cabaret piano roll with black keys flashing.  It is a story of Louis Armstrong’s dark sacred night, of a man who ate the sun, of lightning bugs in an alder grove, and of starlight in the Okefenokee Swamp..  More than a century ago in a little monastery town some forty-five miles or so from Moscow, the first nesting dolls of Russia were made to look like men, faces within faces, to show different characters within the same doll.  So also runs the narrative of a man called Legion Madrigal.  It is a book of genetic fire descended from the black Mozart of France, Joseph de Bologna, into the streets of Asheville, Harlem, Savannah, Detroit, Kansas City, East Saint Louis, Monterey, New Orleans, and Memphis, across the whole of the Twentieth Century. (Available as hardback
or Kindle edition)

The Copenhagen Interpretation (Published January 2014)

Can murders and miracles be made of the same stuff?  The narrator did not think so until both happened before his eyes, each depending on the other.  This bloody story about gentle people took place back at the beginning of the Reagan years, among Americans but not in America.  Not in Denmark either.  The title recalls an argument between two great scientists in the 1920s.  The one who lived in Copenhagen claimed that the world came out of a random dark and an alien logic.  At the time of the Falklands War something did happen in Germany the way that the Copenhagen scientist supposed, events out of the random and alien darkness.  It happened in Heidelberg where the narrator was living in those early Reagan days.  And the Devil himself kept a house near Tübingen.
(Available as Kindle, hardback and paperback)

Yestermorrow (Published September 2014)
This book is not about writers, their lives or their problems, nor about academia.  It is a book about the pale empresses and dark gargoyles of the human interior.  Its protagonist, while the viewpoint is strongly male, could have been a musician, an athlete, a scientist, a businessman.  Never mind his suspicious occupation.  Mind only that to be human and to reach middle age brings us to facts that until then may go unattended.  This is a book about the end of golden weather, of darkness confronted, comprehended, transcended.  Life brings each of us, should we survive long enough, two great revelations about itself.  By thirty we know it will not be what we expected; somewhere beyond forty, should we live so long, we learn that it has not been what we had thought.  This book concerns that second enlightenment. 
(Available as Kindle, hardback and paperback)

The Applause of the Gods (published June 2016)
The Applause of the Gods
This story of Faustian bargains happened in Paris in the 1950s. Using any means necessary to get to the top with her talent, Kathleen Ingersoll reached the far edge of possibility as a classical pianist. With the higher music establishment in the background, her story is neither about music nor about Paris. It is about a woman and the cost of extreme ambition, about love and other dangers, and about time and the river.

Events on streets and in neighborhoods that were never in Paris are in this book the same way that Poe’s murders happened in the rue Morgue. Persons who existed in the past—for example, Josephine Baker—are images in a distorted mirror. The world in this book and the one we call real happen inches apart. Whether Kathleen Ingersoll’s bargains with an imaginary or true Devil could actually have happened somewhere, somewhen, the author leaves to his many co-authors, the readers.  They necessarily will see the story as different from what the author saw in telling it. (Available as Kindle, hardbackpaperback and Google book)


Also in progress is a seventh novel, Saturday’s Children, dramatizing the bloody strike at Homestead Pennsylvania in 1892 and the subsequent propaganda by deed, an attempted assassination of Henry Clay Frick.  The gunman was Alexander Berkman, an extraordinary anarchist.  His lover and accessory before the fact was Emma Goldman, who was such a saint of social indignation that she went on the street as a whore to raise money for the project.